Dear Finn Masters,

This evening we should have been enjoying our Masters Dinner in Port Zelande with all our Finn friends from far and wide. It has become an important tradition of the Finn World Masters.

Unfortunately that is not possible, so here is the next best thing. Probably...

We have collected together your toasts into the following video. If you did not send one in on time, please feel free to add yours to the comments to this post on our Facebook page here.

Now please raise your glasses to the 50th Anniversary of the Finn World Masters, and to absent friends. 



Andy Denison
Masters President

rolf  kristian  philip

Martin Atzwanger has sent us the sad news that our Finn friend Heini Unterhauser has passed away at the age of 77 years.
Heini started his Finn career on Lake Caldaro in the 1960s and won the Finn World Masters in 1983 in Port Camargue and again in 1986 in Lago di Bracciano.
Due to his victory in Port Camargue and his commitment, the Finn World Masters was held with great success on the small Lake Caldaro in 1984. That was the first time the event attracted more than 100 Finn Masters.
Martin writes, "He was known as a very funny person and Finn sailing was his life. The entire Finn fleet of Lake Caldaro with its 30 Finn dinghies mourns his death. He leaves behind a wife and a daughter."

The Finn Masters sends its deepest sympathies to Heini's family and friends.

It is proposed to publish a book about the Finn World Masters, about the people and the races that have defined this amazing event for half a century. Fifty years of the Finn Word Masters is a milestone that should be recognised and recorded.

There was some history of the Masters in FINNatics, but very few photos exist from the early days. You can see pretty much everything that exists in that chapter below.

So this is an attempt to track down all existing materials before they are lost forever.

We need:

  • Photos of races and people from 1970 onwards. There are very few in the IFA archive before 2008.
  • Stories of the people and the races. Profiles and interviews. Race reports. Minutes of Annual Meetings. The only material we have is that which was printed in Finnfare and Finnatics
  • Any full results sheets from early events will also be useful.

The goal is to produce the book ready to bring to the 2021 Finn World Masters in Medemblik as a journal of the first 50 years of the Finn World Masters.

Please send any photos, stories ideas and other information to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

On the occasion of the Finn World Masters in Skovshoved in 2019 the Finn Masters were kindly presented with Godet Challenge Trophy by one of the event sponsors. Godet is a producer of fine Cognacs in La Rochelle, France. It was presented in Skovshoved to Richard Hart on his achievement of winning the Super Legends, but as this was a duplication, the Master’s President decided to follow up on a suggestion to widen the scope of the cup to recognise exceptional work or achievement towards the objectives of the Finn Masters events.

richardAs Richard Hart was the first recipient of the trophy, it was decided to backdate the winners to 2017 to acknowledge his extensive work on the early development of the randomised fleet controls that we still use today. Richard therefore appropriately remains the first name on the trophy.

On Richard’s suggestion, it was felt that two other persons had made a great contribution to our events in recent years and it was decided to make the 2018 award to Vasilis Pigadas, for not only organising the superb 2015 Finn World Masters in Kavala, Greece, but also arranging to have Richard’s allocation system set up as a computer programme rather than on an Excel spreadsheet, continuing its development.

The 2019 winner was Ray New for his extensive work on redesigning the system programme to allow us to continue with the randomised fleets and to avoid ties without a Medal Race.

It did not take long to decide who to award the Cup to in 2020. It is not any kind of compensation for the disappointment, but the 2020 winner is Jan Zetzema and his team on the organising committee for the Port Zelande Finn World Masters. The Masters Committee would like to acknowledge again the huge amount of work and enthusiasm that went into the event that never happened.

For the future, the trophy will be awarded to a person or group connected to the Finn Masters, not necessarily always a Finn sailor, who in the opinion of the Masters Committee has made an outstanding contribution to our community, to our events, to the objectives of promoting the Finn Masters.

2017 Richard Hart, GBR
2018 Vasilis Pigadas, GRE
2019 Ray New, GBR
2020 Jan Zetzema & FWM2020 OC, NED

Page 1 of 49

Quick links to news